top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaren Plaatjes

Wallowing and IKEA


Amity and Isla decided to be helpful and build some of the IKEA furniture. Sadly we managed to lose 6 screws somehow. As I wasn't in the room, I'm not sure if they just weren't in the pack or if they ran away during the building process, but we were down 6 screws which was a little annoying. I googled the type of screw we needed and found you can buy them on Ebay but they weren't going to arrive any time soon. I then checked to see if the desk I couldn't buy the other day was back in stock. It was, so I figured I could just go and buy the desk and get the screws we needed at the same time. But then I realised I couldn't drive to the IKEA I went to earlier in the week as that part of the country is now in super lockdown and you're not supposed to enter the area unnecessarily. So I checked our closest IKEA, which I hate driving to, hence why I always go to the other one, and they also had the desk in stock. Phil said he'd go with me so we zipped to IKEA AGAIN this afternoon.

It was the quickest I've ever been through an IKEA. In, cut through to the Marketplace, skipping the showroom completely, practically ran through the marketplace resisting everything but what we came for, into the warehouse to the desk aisle. In the space of time it took us to drive 33 miles (almost an hour annoyingly) they had sold about 10 desks and now there were only about 8 left, but one of them is now ours. We picked up the bookshelf I had forgotten to buy the other day and then we went to pay. Through the checkouts and back into mask-free world in less than 20 minutes. It was a record. I then remembered I needed the screws for the drawers. They used to have the section in customer services where you could pick up extra screws and stuff but due to Covid, that section is no longer there and you have to queue in the ridiculously long customer services line to get screws. It took 30 minutes to get 8 screws! Screwed by IKEA yet again.

The upside was, Phil and I were so hungry by the time we finished waiting we went on a dinner date which was lovely. Now we just need to finish building everything over the weekend and I can finally get the upstairs back in order.

I didn't accomplish a whole lot on the business front today. I'm beginning to see why It's taking me so long to get anywhere. I spoke to a lady from APDO about doing some voluntary work for them which I think will help me get to know more about how everything works and I'll get to meet people that way too, so I'm excited about that. I read through a couple other people's websites and realised I probably have a lot to do on mine. I think I'm just going to have to put it out there no matter what, even if it's not great yet, as I am getting stuck in the trying to perfect it phase and just wallowing here. Note to self, must stop wallowing.

Today's quote is making me want to read this guy's books. "When we consider that each of us has only one life to live, isn’t it rather tragic to find men and women, with brains capable of comprehending the stars and the planets, talking about the weather; men and women, with hands capable of creating works of art, using those hands only for routine tasks; men and women, capable of independent thought, using their minds as a bowling-alley for popular ideas; men and women, capable of greatness, wallowing in mediocrity; men and women, capable of self-expression, slowly dying a mental death while they babble the confused monotone of the mob? Neil Gaiman.

I had to laugh as although I am able to comprehend the stars and planets, I have just spent a whole lot of words talking about IKEA.

My photo for today is of Amity building her furniture.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page