top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaren Plaatjes

The Struggle is Real


I spent over two hours today trying to do something on my website and can't figure out how so I have to phone the helpline tomorrow. I hate not being able to figure stuff out and it was pretty frustrating. I know why you pay people lots of money to do things for you, it's a shame I'm not earning lots of money to pay them with. I'm sure I'll get there at some point but it might just be in an embarrassingly long time.

I did figure out that I'd made a rather humours and potentially humiliating mistake on my APDO registration where Google had auto-filled the fields for me and for my business, it had written "I want to start a business but I have no idea what to do." This was listed as my business name on the APDO register so if you searched for organisers in my area, you would get that which is rather hysterical. Fortunately it's only been live for a day and I managed to fix it. I remember I typed that answer in to some email list I signed up for. One of the many help me figure out my life type of emails I'm sure. The good news is I am now an official APDO member and can use their logo on all my advertising which is great. Now I just have to figure out how to insert it without it looking pants.

I have big plans for each day, but only seem to get through a fraction of what I hope to accomplish. Usually because I get stuck in only to figure out that there's 50 other things I hadn't thought of yet that I need to do before I can finish the one thing that I decided to do for the day. I'm going to try again tomorrow to get everything working but am off to the dentist first thing in the morning which might throw me off plan a little as well.

I didn't manage to build any flat packed furniture today but I did finish another audio book while I was cooking our ridiculously healthy dinner that took ages to cook and was frowned upon by my sweet girls who declared it "disgusting". Fortunately the book was about renewing your soul and I felt pretty calm after listening to it so even their negative comments couldn't shake my zen-like mood.

I'm off to my bed early tonight, with a plan for tomorrow. Hopefully I'll avoid too many more embarrassing moments along the business building way but I'm sure I'll have my fair share.

My quote for today is from Ralph Waldo Emerson, "Write it on your heart that every day is the best day in the year. He is rich who owns the day, and no one owns the day who allows it to be invaded with fret and anxiety. Finish every day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities, no doubt crept in. Forget them as soon as you can, tomorrow is a new day; begin it well and serenely, with too high a spirit to be cumbered with your old nonsense. This new day is too dear, with its hopes and invitations, to waste a moment on the yesterdays."

My photo for today is of me and Amity being silly because sometimes you've just got to laugh at yourself.

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page