top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaren Plaatjes

IKEA Again


I had big plans for today. I was going to launch my new website and end my blog on a high of 100 days of Karening. However things did not quite go as I planned and I didn't actually do any work on my business today at all as the IKEA saga continued, so I will keep going with this a few more days at least.

We FINALLY got a refund from IKEA. It only took almost two months and over four hours on the phone (mostly on hold to the Mamma Mia soundtrack). £95.00 in vouchers later, we finally ended up basically back where we started with no furniture except the bed that they tried to deliver twice So today, I drove to IKEA. Isla is on half term this week so she decided to come with me which was a good thing as I ended up with two trolleys of stuff and have no idea how I would have pushed both of them. One with furniture and the other with all the other bits and pieces you gather as you wander through IKEA.

Last night I checked that all the items we wanted were in stock and we arrived about an hour after they opened and the desk she wants for her room was out of stock! I was able to buy all the other things we needed but it was so annoying that I will have to drive back there again and who knows if it will actually be in stock then. I'm not sure I trust their website. Maybe I'll just keep driving there indefinitely and we'll never end up with the actual items we want. I tried unsuccessfully to convince her she liked a different desk, but alas, she's a bit like her mother and didn't want the other desk as it didn't go with what she has in her brain as her "look". So I suppose I will have to drive there again another day. I did manage to spend the voucher money though and bought exciting items like new food storage containers and plants because plants make every room feel more alive.

The IKEA has a one way system in place and they're not letting you do any of the shortcuts so by the time we escaped from there back into the outside world it was almost 2:00 pm. We went to get some lunch and then drove the hour and a bit back home by which time I had a blazing headache and had to take two power naps to recover. It was supposed to be a 20 minute nap, but I ended up doing two in a row because I couldn't wake up properly after the first one. Then I made dinner, had a zoom meeting, ate and collapsed on the sofa with my girls for some girly evening time. I didn't have the mental energy to work on my website tonight so I decided to leave it till tomorrow and hopefully I'll feel revived and ready to tackle it in the morning. The flat-packed furniture is calling my name and I may end up procrastinating by building a Busunge. (I love the names for IKEA furniture but wonder if they're just really boring in Swedish?)

So I'm not promising that I'll have a website to share with you tomorrow, but I might. I'll keep you all in suspense for another day at least and keep sharing my brain wanderings.

My quote for today is from IKEA founder, Ingvar Kamprad. “Happiness is not reaching your goal. Happiness is being on the way.” As much as IKEA have messed us around in the last two months, I will still shop there.

My photo for today is of Isla and her pumpkin spice Frappuccino. Her reward for surviving the trip and singing French versions of Disney songs and rousing renditions of "One Hundred Digits of Pi" and other weird and wonderful educational songs to me on the journey.

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page