top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaren Plaatjes

Create vs. Consume


I read a challenge a couple days ago, to create more than I consume. I've been contemplating how I can incorporate this in my life and what difference it would make. At the moment I spend quite a lot of my time reading and I do occasionally watch TV, but I think I'd be a lot more productive if I managed to output as much as I input. I'm sure those of you who have been reading some of these posts since I started blogging are probably like, duh! Of course it might just mean I stop reading. LOL.

I've been keeping a Trello board record of all the books I've read since March when lockdown began. I was updating it today and realised I have a lot of books that I'm currently reading. Trying to stop reading for the 30 days was soooooo hard and it's thrown off my reading rhythm, but I'm getting back into it and enjoying the books I'm currently working on. I'm in three book clubs, so I read at least those three books each month and then I have the business type books as well as books about God. I usually also have a "fluffy" book on the go for when I just need to relax and enjoy a good story.

This morning I had a zoom call with a lovely lady I met through APDO. She was kind enough to offer me a free virtual coffee chat about running an organising business and it really encouraged me. As I'm going through this process, I'm making notes of the kind of business person I want to be and there are so many generous people who have inspired me and taken time to encourage me. I want to be that kind of person and be generous with my time and resources.

I worked on my website again today but not for as long as I needed to. My days aren't going to plan at the moment! It's going to be really embarrassing when I finally release it to the world as people are probably going to be like, what took her so long. This is it? I keep second guessing myself and changing things and trying new layouts. It is coming but I'm now 6 days behind where I wanted to be, but at least I'm still heading in the right direction. I'm just going to hang on to that.

My quote for the day is, "Someone is sitting in the shade today because someone planted a tree a long time ago." Warren Buffet

My photo for today is of Isla and Amity who put on a hilarious "musical" for us this evening entitled, "The Boy and His Fish." It was fabulous and made me laugh out loud.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page