top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaren Plaatjes

Connection


I connected with a lovely lady today through the Christian business community I joined. She is also a member of APDO (Association of Professional Declutters and Organisers) and is the head of their training and development section. She recognised my name when she saw me post in the Facebook group and so reached out to me for a chat. It was so nice to talk through how I was feeling with someone who has been there and done that and she was so encouraging. She shared with me that she's been studying Nehemiah from the Bible at the moment and how even though God had specifically told him to do something, it wasn't always an easy task. And she equated his story to building a business and the challenges that you face along the way. We also talked about the challenges of our creative brains and how it's difficult to stay focussed and not get side-tracked by all the lovely ideas that pop into our heads. I'm excited that there's this whole community of creative Christian women in the UK who are all so willing to help and encourage each other, and it's great that they all know a lot more about building a business than I do.

I took a few big steps today. I bought my insurance policy which I need in order to use the APDO logo on my business cards. I also bought a couple domain names and decided which website hosting service I'm definitely going to go with. I have a date to work towards so am trying to push through my need for everything to be perfect, and just get something out there.

During the last 3 months I have had my life influenced by so many amazing people. I'm so grateful to everyone who has encouraged me, mentored me, coached me, prayed for me, sent me inspirational quotes, articles and job adverts. To people who have connected me with others and to authors who I'll probably never meet who will never even know what a difference they're words have made to a middle-aged Karen living in a tiny town in Lincolnshire.

My quote for today is courtesy of my lovely husband who read it somewhere and thought I might like it sadly he's not sure who to credit it to. "Don't worry about how many mistakes you'll make or how slow your progress is, you're still a million miles ahead of everyone who's not trying."

My photo for today is of an awesome spider web a busy spider spun in our garden. I hate spiders but there is something magical about a sun kissed spider web in the early morning and it reminded me of the ways all our lives are interconnected like a giant web.

27 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page